Viking Honors Night rewards achievements

By Vicki Hood
Posted 5/14/24

GUERNSEY —Nowhere is it more evident that hard work pays off than the annual Honors Night held each spring.   From the selection of the top students in each department at both the junior …

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Viking Honors Night rewards achievements


GUERNSEY—Nowhere is it more evident that hard work pays off than the annual Honors Night held each spring.  From the selection of the top students in each department at both the junior and senior high levels to the announcement of scholarship recipients, as well as awards for academic excellence, Honors Night publicly recognizes proficiency and achievement at Guernsey-Sunrise Schools.

This year’s program was held May 7th in the east gymnasium and following a welcome by Principal Liesl Sisson, the announcement of special awards winners was the first item on the agenda.

Technical trades instructor Troy Reichert announced the winner of the “Freddie and Eddie” Memorial Scholarship as Shelbie Bowen. The scholarship is in tribute to two Guernsey-Sunrise graduates who passed away in their early 20s.

The Paula Martinez Memorial Scholarship was presented by Lori Ibarra and Danielle Noggle of Tri-City Parks and Recreation to Chloe Holbrook and Riley Thompson. Paula was a well-known Guernsey-Sunrise parent, school board member and local business owner and was very active in the community prior to her passing. 

Gear-Up Advisor Kathy Sierra presented the Gear-Up scholarship to Shelbie Bowen, Jack Baker, Dawson Bingham, Brody Sterner, Tristan Hohnholt, Jaden Lehman, Berkleigh Pafford, Chloe Holbrook, Juliana Schiele, Domonic Ramirez, and Brook Offe. The Gear-Up program is a federally funded grant-based program that provides grants based on income to help students earn a high school diploma and prepare for college. 

The Guernsey-Sunrise Education Association (GSEA) Tri-City Scholarship, presented by staff instructors Mindy Kelley and Karen Wambach, went to Berkleigh Pafford. GSEA is the local branch of the Wyoming Education Association that strives to promote better working and learning conditions for students and education employees.

The Platte County Chamber of Commerce Scholarship was presented to Juliana Schiele by Chamber Director Shawna Reichert.

Jack Baker was selected to receive the Kaiser Foundation Scholarship. 

Departmental Awards were presented by the instructor of each department.

Art—Instructor Laura Green

HS:  Dawson Bingham

JH:  Anna Lopez

Yearbook—Advisor Mindy Kelley

HS:  Kierstyn Collar

Math—Instructors Sarah VanNatter & Jolyn Hillen

HS:  Nathan VanNatter

JH:  Abigail Seyfang

Instrumental Music—Director Nathan Beutler

HS:  Juliana Schiele

JH:  Jaxon Pafford

Vocal Music—Director Matt Hebbert

HS:  None

JH:  Linkon Rotz, Delaynie Hort

English—Instructors Jennifer Bruns and Amy Hollon

HS:  Jack Baker

JH:  Mariella Alfelor

Science--Instructors Sarah VanNatter & Jolyn Hillen

HS:  Lorelai White

JH:  Mariealla Alfelor

Business—Instructor Mindy Kelley

HS:  Lukas Rotz

JH:  Abigail Seyfang

Social Studies—Instructor Kyle Gunderson

HS:  Brooke Sterner

JH:  Delaynie Hort

Family & Consumer Science—Instructor Kathy Sierra

Industrial Technology—Troy Reichert

HS Welder:  Phylip Morales

HS Woods:  Alex Geisler

Physical Education—Instructor Trentn Weiss

HS:  Dymond Dimas, Joey Lewis

JH:  Abby Seyfang, Linkon Rotz

Golden Viking Awards were presented by the Board of Trustees to Karley Lehman, Leni Dimas, Brooke Sterner, Liberty Whitebird, Chase Kelley, Jordan Atwood, Aiden Noggle, Sam Baker and Nathan VanNatter.  The Golden Viking Awards are based on GPA and extra-curricular activities participation.

Outgoing members of the National Honor Society were recognized. They included Juliana Schiele, Rylie Thompson and Jack Baker.  National Honor Society members are selected based on GPA which must be a minimum of 85, B, 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, or equivalent standard of excellence, or higher, as determined by their local chapter, unpaid school and community service, leadership and character.

Academic Letters were presented to Jack Baker and Chase Kelley.

Principal Liesl Sisson announced this year’s senior class High Honors recipient is Juliana Schiele and the Honors recipients are Shelbie Bowen and Jack Baker.